Virginia Reckless Driving

If you are one of the many drivers in Virginia who is issued a traffic ticket each year, you may be tempted to simply pay the fine and move on. But what you may not know is that certain traffic violations are classified as Virginia reckless driving charges, which are criminal misdemeanors. As a result, these types of offenses carry much harsher penalties than traditional speeding violations.

So what exactly constitutes a reckless driving charge? Unfortunately, the laws surrounding this offense are quite vague. However, in the state of Virginia, reckless driving is defined as any type of dangerous driving that involves willful disregard for others’ safety. In other words, if you are driving in a manner that could possibly threaten another person, you may be guilty of reckless driving—regardless of your intent.

By far, the most common type of reckless driving charge in Virginia is speeding. Indeed, under the state’s traffic laws, any person who drives more than 20 miles per hour above the speed limit can be charged with reckless driving. Driving above 80 miles per hour can also lead to a reckless driving charge, regardless of the posted speed limit. Other examples of reckless driving charges include passing a stopped school bus, racing, driving with faulty brakes, and failing to yield when merging onto a highway.

In Virginia, a reckless driving charge is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Drivers who are convicted face penalties such as a license suspension of six months or more, up to $2,500 in fines, and up to one year jail. Plus, a reckless driving conviction will remain on the person’s criminal record permanently—a fact that can jeopardize many future employment, housing, and educational opportunities.

To avoid the consequences of a reckless driving charge, many drivers may consider trying to negotiate with the prosecutor or police officer for a less severe charge. Unfortunately, many jurisdictions in Virginia do not allow drivers to negotiate plea bargains without legal representation. As a result, if you are charged with reckless driving in Virginia, it is in your best interest to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately.

Fortunately, attorneys Mark, Pat and Jeff are here to help. With decades of combined experience handling Virginia reckless driving cases just like yours, our lawyers have the knowledge required to defend you in court. In many cases, you may be able to reduce your charge to a non-criminal offense, or even eliminate it entirely. For a free consultation, contact us today to discuss your case.

Free Case Evaluations (24-Hours)

Two Convenient Locations

Virginia Beach:

One Columbus Center, Suite 672A Virginia Beach, VA 23462

Newport News:
13195 Warwick Boulevard
Newport News, VA 23602

Virginia Reckless Driving Free Case Evaluation